An elegant inn with a historic past. The Amelia Island Williams House, circa 1856, is an antebellum mansion once owned and occupied by Marcellus Williams. Located in the historic village of Fernandina Beach, choose from 5 rooms in the Williams House. Or for a luxury stay, stay in the Hearthstone House, circa 1859, with four luxury suites for guests. The third lodging option is the Carriage House providing two additional guest rooms. The House is the newest built in 2003 on the site of the original carriage house, offers two guest rooms, and the owner’s quarters.
Breakfast at the Williams House is served from 9 AM to 10 AM. In two courses your taste buds are treated to a fruit dish served with a baked good (muffins, scone or pound cake) and followed by a savory egg dish or a special version of french toast or pancakes.
Role in history – The Underground Railroad.
Built in 1856, this mansion contains a mysterious trapdoor in the dining room closet, offering access to a secret room where slaves could hide. When Union troops occupied Fernandina, they used the Williams House as the headquarters and the Hearthstone as an infirmary. Upon his return to the island, Marcelus A. Williams released his slaves prior to the war and became active in the Underground Railroad, by offering a safe house for slaves through a secret room in the dining room. (BedandBreakfast.com, Inc., enews 2/2/14)
Enjoy Amelia Island from this beautiful and well appointed Bed and Breakfast.